First of all, NEVER click on a link in an email claiming to be from PayPal. Look very closely at the email address the message came from. You may get an email from someone like paypal@gmail.com, paypal@hotmail.com or paypal@yahoo.com, but these are NOT from PayPal.
Anyone can have their name appear as PayPal when they send you a message, so don’t let the “name” appearing in the from field of a message fool you.
I think the way these things generally work is, they build a site that looks identical to PayPal’s and when you follow the link to that fake website, if you don’t catch the slight difference in the URL, you might make the mistake of “Loging In…” By attempting to log into the fake site, you have just given some criminal bastard your real PayPal Login info.
They can then log into your account and transfer money to a bank account etc…
If you get an email like this, forward it to spoof@paypal.com
Here’s a Picture of a fake PayPal site, just to give you an idea of how easy it is for these slime balls to pull off this sort of thing.

I got an email from noreply@paypal-cgi.com today. I looked up who that web site belongs to and posted that info below. Apparently it’s one Katie Beougher in Emeryville, CA. The email reads as follows:
Subject: Customer Service - Notification
This email is to inform you that your online profile has been deactivated due to inactivity.
In order to continue using your PayPal account, please renew your profile by going to:
http://211.17.17.14/log_recv/.cgi-bin/update/reload/pp/www.paypal-cgi.com/cmd/index.htm
We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Thank you for using PayPal.
Best Regards,
PayPal Resolution Center
Again, if you get an email like this, forward it to spoof@paypal.com
Here’s the WhoIs.net info on the phoney paypal site I got an email from. (whois.net is a free way to look up who owns a website domain):
WHOIS information for: paypal-cgi.com:
[whois.melbourneit.com]
Domain Name.......... paypal-cgi.com
Creation Date........ 2007-10-12
Registration Date.... 2007-10-12
Expiry Date.......... 2008-10-12
Organisation Name.... Katie Beougher
Organisation Address. P O Box 99800
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. EmeryVille
Organisation Address. 94662
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US
Admin Name........... PrivateRegContact Admin
Admin Address........ P O Box 99800
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ EmeryVille
Admin Address........ 94662
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ US
Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
Admin Fax............
Tech Name............ PrivateRegContact TECH
Tech Address......... P O Box 99800
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... EmeryVille
Tech Address......... 94662
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... US
Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
Later, PayPal responded saying:
Dear Andrew Peterson,
Thanks for taking an active role by reporting suspicious-looking emails.
The email you forwarded to us is a phishing email, and our security team
is working to disable it.
————————-
What is a phishing email?
————————-
Phishing emails attempt to steal your identity and will often ask you to
reveal your password or other personal or financial information. PayPal
will never ask for your password over the phone or in an email and will
always address you by your first and last name.
Take our Fight Phishing Challenge at
https://www.paypal.com/fightphishing to learn 5 things you should know
about phishing. You’ll also see what we’re doing to help fight fraud
every day.
————————-
You’ve made a difference.
————————-
Every email counts. By forwarding a suspicious-looking email to
spoof@paypal.com, you’ve helped keep yourself and others safe from
identity theft.
Thanks,
The PayPal Team
Read the rest of this entry »